Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default How to Transcribe Music!

We'll I'm a bit new to piano sort of and I was wondering how most of the people here learn how to transcribe their music sheets. I want to learn how to learn how so I wont have to depend on others to be able to play a song.

So everyone please post:
    (1) How did you start transcribing?
    (2) How did you learn?
    (3) Tips on transcribing.

-Thanks for reading and this is a helpful thread for people who also wants to learn, such as me. I also would like to thank brncao, a member of this forum, for giving me this idea. :] Ty brncao!

1. Through inspiration from other transcribers. It all started with Gori Fater's Sonic the Hedgehog piano video. I was truly amazed because there were absolutely no sheets for those. I downloaded the sheets and played them. Half a year later I decided to transcribe and arrange my own songs.

I'll combine #2 and #3 because it's essentially the same; the tips will be based on my own experience how I learned to transcribe. I'll write a lesson for those new to transcribing by ear. Maybe it'll cut down on the number of requesters

So you've finally dipped your toes into the water. Where should you start?
    The first thing I recommend everyone to do first is to learn basic music theory. The term "Music theory" might frighten some beginners, but it's really straight forward. If you've learned how to read sheet music then you can skip this step.
    You'll need to be able to understand and read sheet music if you're planning on playing it on your instrument right? Here's a great website that teaches music theory. http://musictheory.net/.